The solar system is the gravitationally bound system where objects orbit arround the sun, directly or indirectly. Directly like the planets and indirectly like the moons.

In the beginning we did no recognize the concept of the solar system. Most of the people believed that earth is the center of the universe. In 17th century Galileo Galilei, Johannes Kepler and Issac Newton developed an understanding concept and understand that planets move arround the sun.

orbit arround the sun.gif

There are 8 planets in our solar system. All planets orbit arround the sun in circular orbit. They are two types-

  1. Terrestrial Planets
  2. Giant Planets.

1. Terrestrial Planets

smaller inner planets are called Terrestrial Planets. Terrestrial planets are 4 (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars). These planets are fully composed with rock and metal.

terresterial planets

2. Giant Planets

Giant outer planets are called Giants planets. Giants planets are 4 (Jupiter, Saturn. Uranus, Neptune). Jupiter and Saturn are Gas giants with hydrogen and helium gases and Uranus and Neptune are Ice giants with water, amonia and Methane.

giant planets.jpg

The Solar system formed almost 4.6 billion years ago due to gravitational collapse of a giant interstellar cloud. The vast majority of the system’s mass is in the sun and most of the remaining mass is in the Jupiter.

The solar system contains smaller objects like Asteroids belt. Asteroid belt lies between the orbit of Mars and the Jupiter which contains object rock and metal. Kuiper belt beyond Neptune’s orbit which are population of trans-Neptunian objects which which composed most of the ice. It is called dwarf planets like Pluto and Eris. Six of the planets which orbited by natural satellites which called moons after the moon. The outer planets encircled by rings which made of dust and other small objects.

The solar system is located in the Orion Arm which is 26,000 light years away from the center of the milky way.

orion arm
Orion Arm